RSS

Host family

14 Sep

Yesterday I finally made it to my host family, they are very nice but to tell you the truth I don’t know all of their names yet. Yesterday igot picked up from the AFS office by my host brother, then we took a taxi to my host dads office he is a politician I guess, I didn’t really understand what he does though. We were there for a very long time because he left and didn’t come back for about three hours. It was ok because I slept most of the time. When we got to the house I was pretty surprised, it was much bigger than I thought it was. Today I woke up and got to take a cold shower out of a bucket it was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, it was actually kind if fun. After that me, my host brother, and host mother took food to a pre school which was pretty fun. I got to meet all of the kids who were poking at me and calling me obruni (white man). Over all it was pretty fun. Also sorry about no pictures it is just hard because when I take my camera into the city everyone stares at me like I’m crazy and lots of people do not like their picture taken. My host family also told me that I look like a big time tourist, which is not a good thing. So that is pretty much what has been going on lately, I’ll try to get pictures soon soon.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Host family

  1. Sam Walker

    September 14, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    White man!Now that is funny!

     
  2. Kelly Scott

    September 15, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Hi Drew. What an adventure you are having!! Did you get your phone fixed? what is your number? Do you start school on Monday? Have your uniform yet? Hey I was thinking of sending your little video camera with a new cord to charge it… would that be useful? anything you need?
    A cold shower with a bucket sounds like the start of a new travel show on the travel channel… Showering with Drew around the world….:) Love you honey. Mom

     
  3. Christie

    September 16, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Hi Drew, Sounds like you are having a great time already. Yes, you will get used to cold bucket showers! And, may you never tire of seeing the beautiful African sunrise and sunsets. Send a picture of yourself in your school uniform…it will make Simone feel better as she is wearing uniforms this year as well! Enjoy and have fun! Love, Auntie

     

Leave a Reply

 
